Conversations Overview

Conversations are the essence of Glip. Most work gets done in the context of a conversation, whether it's a one-on-one conversation, a conversation among a few co-workers, or even an entire project team. Maybe even a team that includes collaborators or clients from outside the firm. The goal with Glip is to replicate that real-time collaboration in an online service accessible via the web or any mobile device.

Going beyond basic text or video chat, Glip allows you to be productive right in your conversation stream. Whether it’s assigning a task, scheduling an event or sharing a file, you don’t have to interrupt your workflow to get work done.

In the example above, Jeff, Ella and Patrick are part of a project to create a display ad. They created a team on Glip and are able to stay focused on collaboration instead of switching over to a project management tool to assign tasks, to their calendar app to schedule a meeting, or to email or a file-storage service to share files.

As in the real world, conversations on Glip can be one-on-one (e.g., between Peter and Paul), multi-person (e.g, Peter, Paul and Lisa), or with an entire team. Just pick a conversation and start collaborating!

People

The People section of the left pane is where your active conversations with individual people are listed. This could be one-on-one conversations (i.e., you and one other person) or conversations with multiple people, but it would not include teams (see next section). Any time a new message is posted to a conversation, that conversation immediately pops to the top of the list in the People section and the number of unread messages is displayed to the right. Once you click on the conversation, that unread message indicator will get cleared.

The People section displays up to 10 one-on-one conversations (configurable under Preferences), although all conversations with unread messages are always included. Need to chat with someone who isn't already listed in the People section (or multiple people)? Click the "+" button to the right of the "People" link to start a new conversation. You can also find specific people using Search, or by clicking on the "People" link itself to see the complete list. You can add people via the People page (including both co-workers and guests) as well.

 

Teams

The Teams section of the left pane is where your active team conversations are listed. Teams can be used for projects you're working on, functional areas in your company, or even the company softball team. What sets teams apart of from conversations among individuals (i.e., as in the People and Groups sections) is that they exist independent of their membership. People can be added or removed from a team as needed, and new members have access to the entire conversation history and all content that has been shared in the team.

Click on the "Teams" heading to see the complete list of teams. In addition to all of the teams you're already in, any of your company's public teams (i.e., that anyone in the company can join) are listed here. You can also create a new team via the Teams page, or just click the "+" button to the right.

 

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

  • Avatar
    Raymond

    isnt it more logical to invert the message page so that the latest messages are at the top? like FB ?

  • Avatar
    Rick Gainsmith

    If you login with Google images within the chat don't load. If you login by email and password they do. Please fix Google login, it is our preferred method.

  • Avatar
    Fred Carneiro

    I´m facing a strange behavior. If I´m off Glip and get in after a while, when I get in Teams room to see the new messages, I´m directed to the last conversation sent instead the last conversation I saw.(like at Slack). Is there any way to set this behavior? Thanks.

Powered by Zendesk